MastheadSpring
 
“I will rather boast most gladly of my weaknesses, in order that the power of Christ may dwell with me…. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”
 
2 Corinthians 12:9-10
July 8, 2012
14th Sunday of Ordinary Time  
Dear Friends,
It sounds strange and untrue to say that “when I am weak, then I am strong.” So too, it jars us to read in a letter of St. Ignatius Loyola that “sickness no less than health is a gift from God.” Our nature rebels and fights against sickness rather than welcomes it as a gift from God. The work of Catholic Medical Mission Board is both to prevent illness and disease, and to assist those suffering.
Yet even as doctors and volunteers minister to those suffering, we also share our faith that the Lord never abandons those in sickness. He is Emmanuel – God with us. The power and love of Christ remains with us even in illness. In this sense the Scripture comes true, that “when I am weak, then I am strong,” because the power and love of Christ is far stronger than our own strength or weakness.

Lord Jesus Christ, You know what pain is like. You know what those who are sick and in pain are going through. Help them to bear their pain gallantly, cheerfully and patiently. Help them to remember that they will never be tried above what they are able to bear, and that You are with them even in the dark valley. Help them to remember what St. Paul said, that God is faithful and will not let us be tested beyond our strength. 
Amen

Rev. Peter Schineller, S.J., CMMB Board of Directors

donate to weekly prayer reflection
100 Years Seal Alone

